Module Overview

In this first section, you have been introduced to the following concepts:

  1. Regions and Availability Zones:

    • AWS operates in multiple geographic regions around the world, each comprising multiple Availability Zones (AZs). AZs are isolated data centers within a region, designed for redundancy and fault tolerance.

  2. EC2 (Elastic Compute Cloud):

    • EC2 is AWS's virtual machine service, allowing you to create and manage virtual servers (instances) on the cloud. You can choose instance types, operating systems, and scale as needed.

  3. S3 (Simple Storage Service):

    • S3 is AWS's object storage service, used to store and retrieve data such as files, images, and backups. It provides high durability, availability, and scalability.

  4. RDS (Relational Database Service):

    • RDS offers managed database services for popular database engines like MySQL, PostgreSQL, Oracle, and SQL Server, simplifying database administration tasks.

  5. IAM (Identity and Access Management):

    • IAM is AWS's security service for managing user access and permissions. You can create users, roles, and policies to control who can access AWS resources.

  6. VPC (Virtual Private Cloud):

    • VPC allows you to create isolated network environments within AWS. You can configure subnets, security groups, and route tables to control network traffic.

  7. Elastic Load Balancing:

    • AWS provides load balancing services to distribute incoming traffic across multiple instances, improving the availability and fault tolerance of applications.

First Recap Video

Congrats on making it to the first recap!

Refresh your memory by watching the summary video. collaborates with Amazon Web Services to deliver digital training content to our students.

AWS First Recap